Positivity Needs a Plan

One of the things I talk a lot about on this blog is positivity. I 100% believe that positive thinking is a powerful tool to achieving your goals, and to feeling fulfilled. But here’s the thing – positivity is not where it ends.

I was talking to my mom today about positivity and how if positivity is the only tool you’re using to achieve your goals and dreams, then you might be in for a surprise. I see so many messages on social media about positivity. Like the one below:

positivemind

Source: Pinterest

And I agree to some extent. Our behaviour is determined by our mindset and our perspective is critical. So I do 100% agree that positivity breeds positivity. In fact, I whole-heartedly agree that positivity and positive thinking are the best place to start. But, that’s exactly what it is – a start. Positivity is your foundation, but you need to build on that foundation to get where you want to go. There needs to be a plan to follow through.

I’ll give you an example.

I often use visualization as a positive thinking tool. I visualize my goals and dreams. I do it so often that it comes naturally now. For me, visualization and positive thinking are very similar to daydreaming, but with one important difference: visualization is daydreaming with a purpose. It helps me see my end goal – the big picture. What I am really trying to achieve.

Souce: Google Images

Souce: Google Images

But, it never stops there, or else it truly would just be daydreaming. After visualizing the ‘big picture’ goal, I always make a plan because I need to know the steps required to get me to that goal. So I make a realistic, actionable, clear plan, and then work hard to carry it out. And this is a critical piece that I think is sometimes missed in the wave of support for positive thinking.

Sometimes positive thinking is considered to be the notion that you must believe ‘everything will work out’. And it might, but most things will work out a lot better if you have a plan and you follow through.

To me, positive thinking also doesn’t mean that you ignore the possibility of failure. It means that you decide that you will find a way to get to your end-goal, happy-state, whatever it may be, despite the obstacles that may arise. You have the courage to accept that failure is a possibility, but you will try anyways. That has to include a plan. And sometimes, part of your plan will have to include contingencies. Because life happens.

Source: Google Images

Source: google images

I’m not suggesting that we need to plan every aspect of our lives, because that can be equally as detrimental as not having any plans. And, I do also think that positive thinking is critical in helping us maintain perspective, and for allowing us to have grand dreams. But, I do think that big dreams require good planning and hard work, and that is what I consider to be the trifecta of success.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

So what does that mean?

Positivity extends beyond just believing the best will happen. It means being a dreamer, and being willing to work for those dreams in any circumstance that may arise.

  • Dream big, and keep a positive mind.
  • Make a plan to achieve your dreams.
  • And finally, be willing to work hard for your dreams and roll with the obstacles that might arise.
Source: Google Images

Source: Google Images

How do you use positivity as a tool to achieve your dreams?

What else do you do to reach your goals?

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

Until next time,

Sam

2 thoughts on “Positivity Needs a Plan

  1. Sarah says:

    Such a great post topic! I love your insight on visualization, and your explanation of it as “daydreaming with a purpose” – spot on. I also really like that you mention positive thinking doesn’t ignore the possibility of failure… “failure” happens: tough times, rough patches, downfalls, ect… but what’s key is picking yourself up and trekking onward towards those goals which caused some challenges in the first place 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

