Chickpea Curry Soup Recipe

Cam and I got some incredible gifts when we got married. Seriously. We were overwhelmed with the generosity of our family and friends! No surprise that a lot of our gifts were related to cooking.

I told you about my love for soup in the winter, and a couple of the wedding gifts we received are really fuelling this love, because it’s easier than ever to make (here’s looking at you crockpot and food processor…)!

This week I was having a major soup craving, but I wanted something a little bit different, and curry was sounding really good, so I took a bunch of stuff that Cam and I had in the kitchen and made up a curry soup recipe on the spot. Who says you can’t satisfy two cravings at once??

Despite the lack of planning, thought, and effort that went into it – Cam and I both loved it. So much so that I thought I better document the recipe for the future, and share it with you!

Ingredients:

1 Butternut Squash (cubed)

4 large carrots cut into bite site pieces

2 cans of chickpeas

½ small sweet onion

1 carton chicken broth

3 cups water

1 small handful of curly parsley

Approximately 1 tbsp mild curry powder

Directions:

Throw all of your ingredients into a crockpot and let it cook on low for about 8 hours.

IMG_2160

Once your soup is done cooking you can serve as-is, or puree it in a food processor (or blender). We tried it both ways and couldn’t decide which we liked better so I pureed half and kept the un-pureed portion for leftovers. And, if you’re really feeling adventurous go ahead and dip a plantain fry or two….yummm!

IMG_2145

Let me know if you try it!

Until next time,

Sam

2 thoughts on “Chickpea Curry Soup Recipe

Leave a Reply

