Enjoying a Quiet Moment, and Plantain Fries!

Hello friends!

For those of you in Southern Ontario, I hope you’re staying nice and warm (and safe) in this glorious winter weather.

Today didn’t actually start out with crazy, blowing snow – it was quite lovely this morning! There was a beautiful, mostly clear sky, with a gorgeous sunrise. A sunrise that I almost missed! No, not because I overslept, but because I was so caught up in the morning rush (and this morning felt particularly chaotic for some reason) that I did not even look outside. Even after my sister told me to look at the beautiful sunrise, I initially said “I’m sure it’s beautiful, but I’m busy!”. Seriously, who is too busy to look outside for 30 seconds?! Apparently I thought I was. After realizing how utterly stupid that was, I luckily had not missed the sunrise, and I took a moment to take it all in. I am so glad that I was able to snap out of it and take a quiet moment to look at the breathtaking sunrise that I thought I was ‘too busy’ to see. Lesson learned for me today (thanks Nikki!).

In other news, I am happy to report that the breakfast fry saga has a happy ending! Third time, really is the charm!

After one completely failed attempt at parsnip fries (you can read about it here if you missed it), and one mediocre attempt at plantain fries,I realized I should give up on trying to use a toaster oven to make fries. So, on my third attempt on breakfast fries, I was inspired by Meg (at Adashofmeg.com), and tried pan-fried plantain fries. They were so easy, and oh so good! Hello new breakfast staple!

The winner!

The winner!

I cut the plantain into fries (fyi – one plantain makes a lot of fries!), and fried them in a pan with olive oil, garlic, and salt. Yum!

Plantain fries

If you are looking for a new savoury breakfast food to try, learn from my mistakes and jump right to the pan-fried plantain fries! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Until next time,

Sam

Leave a Reply

